Get help with finding Alabama Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating Alabama Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Alabama state licensed insurance companies.
In the state of Alabama, auto insurance is required by state law. All Alabama motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 25/50/25.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on Alabama roads you must carry:
$25,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
Auto liability insurance coverage refers to insurance against loss resulting from civil liability for injury or damage to the persons or property that belongs to other people. The Alabama Department of Insurance strongly recommends purchasing higher amounts of auto insurance than the legal limits plus uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM).
If you decide to drive without auto insurance in Alabama, you risk losing more than your life savings in the unfortunate event of a car accident. If you are caught driving without auto insurance in Alabama, your license and registration will be suspended and you will be fined up to $500. You will also have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee and show proof of current insurance. Multiple offenders will have to pay a $1,000 fine or 6-month license suspension plus a $200 reinstatement fee.
Purchasing insurance in Alabama is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Alabama automobile insurance is $1,246. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.