Get help with finding Wisconsin Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating Wisconsin Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Wisconsin state licensed insurance companies.
In the state of Wisconsin, auto insurance is required by state law. All Wisconsin motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 25/50/10. Your policy must provide at least the following minimum
• $25,000 for injury or death of one person;
• $50,000 for injury or death of two or more
• $10,000 for property damage.
Uninsured motorist coverage of at least $25,000/$50,000 each for bodily injury only is also mandatory.
Drivers and owners of motor vehicles are required to show proof of insurance at traffic stops/accidents if requested by law enforcement. Proof is not necessary for trailers or semi-trailers.
•Operating a motor vehicle without insurance may result in a fine of up to $500.
•Drivers and owners who fail to show proof of insurance at the time of the stop/accident may be fined up to $10.
•Offering proof of insurance that is found to be fraudulent may result in a fine of up to $5,000.
There is no requirement that you provide proof of insurance when you obtain your driver license or are registering a vehicle, unless that information is requested by DMV and is a requirement before reinstatement of a driver license after a suspension or revocation.
Purchasing insurance in Wisconsin is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Wisconsin automobile insurance is $1,001. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.