Get help with finding South Carolina Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating South Carolina Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our South Carolina state licensed insurance companies.
State required minimum coverage are:
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 property damage per accident
Underinsured motorist coverage is not required.
Submit for 1 Vehicle Quote with High Risk Auto Insurance.
Or try and do it yourself with our available direct companies.
In the state of South Carolina, auto insurance is required by state law. All South Carolina motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 25/50/25.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on South Carolina roads you must carry:
$25,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
South Carolina Bodily injury liability insurance protects you against the claims of other people who are injured in an accident for which you were at fault. South Carolina requires you to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 for all persons injured in one accident. Claims for bodily injury may include medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Property damage liability insurance pays for any damage you cause to the property of others. This not only includes damages to other vehicles but also other property, such as buildings, walls, fences, and equipment. The minimum limit in South Carolina is $25,000 for all property damage in one accident.
Uninsured motorists coverage protects the policy holder directly. This coverage pays if you are injured and/or your property is damaged by a hit-and-run driver or a driver who does not have auto insurance. There is a $200 deductible by law.
Purchasing insurance in South Carolina is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain South Carolina automobile insurance is $1,001. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.
South Carolina is a tort liability state, which means the not-at-fault person can pursue a claim against the at-fault party. South Carolina is also comparative negligence, which means you can be barred from collecting for the percentage you contributed to the accident.
Your coverage is not guaranteed right away: South Carolina Automobile liability insurance can be canceled if you fail to pay your premiums on time and between the 61-90 day of a new policy for any reason.
The South Carolina Department of Transportation (877-349-7190) requires liability and uninsured motorist with limits of 25/50/25 for oversize/overweight vehicles. Also, check with the Public Service Commission at 803-896-5230 for additional information on vehicles for hire such as taxis, buses, etc.