Get help with finding Delaware Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating Delaware Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Delaware state licensed insurance companies.
In the state of Delaware, auto insurance is required by state law. All Delaware motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 15/30/15.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on Alabama roads you must carry:
$15,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$30,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$15,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
Auto liability insurance coverage refers to insurance against loss resulting from civil liability for injury or damage to the persons or property that belongs to other people. The Delaware Department of Insurance strongly recommends purchasing higher amounts of auto insurance than the legal limits plus uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM).
If you decide to drive without auto insurance in Delaware, you risk losing more than your life savings in the unfortunate event of a car accident. If you are driving a vehicle while not having the proper insurance, upon conviction you will be fined not less than $1500 for the first offense and $3000 for each subsequent offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense. Driving license and/or privileges will also be suspended for 6 months.
Purchasing insurance in Delaware is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Delaware automobile insurance is $1,121. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.