Many people ask us how may I insure my Maryland auto with Maryland Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage? Get help by using our Maryland state licensed insurance specialists.
Request free help locating Maryland Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Maryland state licensed insurance companies.
Submit for 1 Vehicle Quote with High Risk Auto Insurance.
In the state of Maryland, auto insurance is required by state law. All Maryland motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 30/60/15.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on Maryland roads you must carry:
$30,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$60,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$15,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
Auto liability insurance coverage refers to insurance against loss resulting from civil liability for injury or damage to the persons or property that belongs to other people. The Maryland Department of Insurance strongly recommends purchasing higher amounts of auto insurance than the legal limits plus uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM).
If you decide to drive without auto insurance in Maryland, you risk losing more than your life savings in the unfortunate event of a car accident. Driving without insurance is against the law in Maryland.
FINES AND PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNINSURED
•$150 fine for first 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to an annual maximum of $2500 per vehicle.
•Your registration will be suspended; if you drive with a suspended registration, your vehicle may be impounded and you may be ticketed and/or fined.
•Failure to respond to MVA insurance notifications will result in your case being transferred to the Central Collections Unit (CCU).
•Once your case is sent to CCU, fines are subject to a 17% collection fee and your income tax return will be intercepted.
•Pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or one year imprisonment for providing false evidence of vehicle insurance.
Purchasing insurance in Maryland is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Maryland automobile insurance is $1,111. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.