Get help with finding Missouri Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating Missouri Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Missouri state licensed insurance companies.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on Missouri roads you must carry:
$25,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$10,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
The law also requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. Source http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/insurinfo.php.
Auto liability insurance coverage refers to insurance against loss resulting from civil liability for injury or damage to the persons or property that belongs to other people. The Missouri Department of Insurance strongly recommends purchasing higher amounts of auto insurance than the legal limits plus uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM).
If you decide to drive without auto insurance in Missouri, you risk losing more than your life savings in the unfortunate event of a car accident. Driving without insurance is against the law in Missouri.
It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle in Missouri without automobile liability insurance. The vehicle driver must show proof of insurance to any law enforcement official, upon request, or a traffic ticket may be issued to the driver. Three things may occur for failing to show proof of insurance:
1.The court will send the conviction to the Driver License Bureau. The conviction will be entered on the driver’s driving record and four points will be assessed. It only takes a total of eight points within an 18-month period to lose your driving privilege in Missouri.
2.The court may enter an order of supervision. This order is sent to the Driver License Bureau so that the driver can be monitored to ensure automobile liability insurance is being maintained.
3.The court may enter an order suspending the driver’s driver license for failing to show proof of insurance. This order is sent to the Driver License Bureau at which time the driver is notified of the suspension of his or her driver license.
Purchasing insurance in Missouri is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Missouri automobile insurance is $1,111. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.