Get help with finding Illinois Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating Illinois Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our Illinois state licensed insurance companies.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on Illinois roads you must carry:
$25,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
Auto liability insurance coverage refers to insurance against loss resulting from civil liability for injury or damage to the persons or property that belongs to other people. The Illinois Department of Insurance strongly recommends purchasing higher amounts of auto insurance than the legal limits plus uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM).
If you decide to drive without auto insurance in Illinois, you risk losing more than your life savings in the unfortunate event of a car accident. Driving without insurance is a petty offense in Illinois. The statute citation is 625 ILCS 5/3-707. Because it is classified as a petty offense, it has a punishment of fine only. The defendant cannot be sentenced to jail. The maximum fine for a petty offense is $1,000.00.The statute says the minimum fine is $500.00.
If a person is found guilty of driving without insurance in IL, the law requires the peron to show proof of insurance to the IL Secretary of State with a special certificate called (SR-22). Failure to show proof of insurance will result in a financial responsibility suspension.
Purchasing insurance in Illinois is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain Illinois automobile insurance is $1,016. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.