Get help with finding South Dakota Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage by using the easy help request form below.
Request free help locating South Dakota Assigned Risk Auto Insurance coverage from our South Dakota state licensed insurance companies.
In the state of South Dakota, auto insurance is required by state law. All South Dakota motorists must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 25/50/25.
This means, in order to operate a vehicle on South Dakota roads you must carry:
$25,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured
$50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident
$25,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident
Uninsured motorist coverage is required for all policies. It pays you, resident members of your family and occupants of your auto for personal injuries caused by an uninsured motorist or a hit and run driver.
This coverage protects you against a claim which is made by someone who has been injured in an auto accident for which you are liable.
Example: If you have 25/50/25 liability coverage, the first two numbers tell you the amount your policy will pay for bodily injury due to an accident.
The first 25 means the policy will pay up to $25,000 for any one injured person. The 50 means the most the policy will pay for all persons injured in a single accident is $50,000.
Purchasing insurance in South Dakota is simple if you have no violations, DUI’s or accidents. Once you are classified as a high risk driver you need to find licensed professional that provide drivers the choice of insurance companies serving their area. The average yearly cost for a preferred or normal driver to obtain South Dakota automobile insurance is $1,001. If you have tickets, a DUI or several accidents in the last 5 years it will cost you more.